George Ultra Lounge & Bar

Image

After Candytown at Yaletown, I visited George Ultra Lounge with a few friends for food and drinks. It was such an energetic lounge, full of laughing customers and busy staffs. The section we were sitting in weren't too dark, wasn't just candle lights. A little bright from any lounges I have been. Therefore I am able to take photos of my food. :P

This lounge has an extensive cocktails, martinis, wine and beer collection to choose from. All the cocktails came with interesting names, was a delight to order. But just a reminder that their drinks are not nice on the wallets at all.

Image

Gwen Stefani - Diamonds and gold are the name of the game! And for those on a Hollywood diet, it’ll score in that area too. A ‘poppy’ mix of Jasmine Vodka, passion fruit and coconut water. Such a beautiful drink, the look and taste of it. I really like how light and smooth it was to drink. And of course a pleasure to look at.

Image

Jack of Hearts Julep - This is a full on exciting mix of Calvados, apricot jam, lavender, balsamic syrup & mint. Not for those who are afraid to explore with their taste buds. The brandy is strong, so strong to a point I couldn't taste any other flavour that the description had. Was disappointed and couldn't finish this drink. :(

Another drink I tried was Jewelled Apple - Inspired by the most amazing herbal tea we ever tried from Tea Palace, Covent Garden. Now the alcoholic version should grace the hand of every party girl, or boy! I really enjoyed this drink also, it has tea that balances out the sweetness from the alchol and gave it a nice fragance while you are sipping it.

Image

Arancini with Saffron. Arancini is basically a rice ball filled with mozzarella cheese which is breaded and fried. I could imagine how great this would taste with wine. With the tomatoe sauce was just delicious. Good balance of crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image

Black Cod Brandade - I didn't know what it was and had to look up brandade online. :P But I sure don't regret ordering this item. It is much like pate. black cod mashed into paste to put on top of crostini along with not too salty capers, the aroma of black cod and combination with the crispy toasted crostini was so yummy! But I do wish to have a little more crostini to finish all the black cod brandade. :)

Image

Of course last but not least the dessert - their dessert menu seems to be quite small and when I spotted this I just felt Christmas right away. So I had to order it. Warm Ginger Bread with Vanilla Ice Cream also had bits of syrupy ginger. Made this a nice winter dessert (and it was a cold cold night!). I loved this dessert with every bit. Now I want to make this at home. :P

It is a nice environment to have a drink and a few snacks, though I wouldn't recommend this for a dinner type of restaurant. If you looking for a continue of your night, this would be the place to go.

George: Ultra Lounge & Wine Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

