Cadeaux Bakery

I don’t quite recall how I found this place. I think I was randomly looking at some cake shops online and I came upon this. On a rainy Tuesday afternoon, I came here for a slice of cake to cheer myself up from the depressing weather Vancouver had been getting.

cashier area

If I read everything correctly from their website, Cadeaux head pastry chef had worked at Blue Water Cafe and Lumiere. He decided to come out and start his own business on the edge of Gastown – I say edge because this is close to Chinatown.

Upon entrance, I notice how large their store is. Lots of empty spaces (but only a few tables for sitting) but a very large open kitchen. (It is rare to see open baking kitchen) I was so delighted to watch the pastry chef work while I enjoyed his cake. :P

interior

While browsing through their website and doing my research, there is this cake name which caught my eye – London Fog Cake. Oh I must give this one a try!! So I did. ;)

london fog layer cake

Very fragrant cake, with sweet aroma of tea and the dense texture of the cake seems to have embed a lot of tea aroma. This cake wasn’t overly sweet at the beginning, I am not sure why as I went through it somehow it got sweeter and then I got really full and couldn’t finish it… Don’t get my wrong I enjoyed the cake but half way through with a cup of latte, it filled me up so quickly.
london fog layer cake inside

latte

I liked this cake shop, however because of the location I would be reluctant to re visit. Need to revisit with more people, and during the day.

Cadeaux Bakery on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

