Hokkaido Ramen Santouka 山頭火

I have been to this place when it first opened, and I really enjoyed their ramen soup. So this time as I walked by I decided to drop in again for a early dinner, this place gets pretty busy as the night goes on. So to avoid line up come early!

Even though we arrived at 5:45pm, we still had to wait for about 15 mins. The inside seating area was already full, so we were seated towards the entrance.

But as I looked over to the shoulder, I notice the big wood sign again. I couldn’t move over to take a good photo of it. But I super liked the sign. 😛

Santouka is run by Japanese that specializes in Hokkaido ramen. It sits on Robson really close to Guu. Let’s dig in!

This is the spicy miso ramen combo with ikura on rice. The combo is also served with house pickled plum and half egg. Maybe I am into really spicy food, this noodle is not too spicy. Just a little bit. The ikura sort of taste funny on the rice, cause the rice was so warm which made the ikura warm. Hmm, ikura is already very fishy therefore having it warm made it more fishy. I didn’t really like that.

Miso Ramen – I usually order this, or someone else will always then I can try the soup. The soup is good like I had tried before, their soup base is very rich and strong.

Tonkotsu Ramen – made with pork bone broth, even stronger than miso. But I really liked how smooth it made the ramen taste.

However I notice from the ramen that they leave a thin layer on top of the soup (something similar to hot milk skin). I couldn’t understand why – maybe it is because the soup base is too fatty therefore leaving the skin?

Overall I enjoyed the ramen but didn’t really like the service (the waitresses are not very friendly) and one of my friend found oily spoon (yikes!). I wouldn’t wait in line for this type of service and environment. Maybe to go would be suitable?

Hokkaido Ramen Santouka 山頭火 on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

